EU to Allocate Billions of Euros to Aspirant Countries, Including Albania

The member states of the European Union gave the green light for the allocation of 14.2 billion euros in financial assistance to the countries that are in the process of enlargement. The funds will be valid for the period 2021-2027.

The beneficiary countries are: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey.

An EU statement said the funds would help them implement reforms aimed at achieving future EU membership. However, financial assistance will not be unconditional. According to the statement, the aid will vary in quantity and intensity, depending on the performance of the beneficiaries.

"Special attention will be paid to the efforts made in the areas of fundamental reforms (rule of law and fundamental rights, democratic institutions and public administration reform, as well as economic development and competition)," the statement said.

It is also announced that the scope and intensity of the assistance may undergo modifications, in case of continuous lack of progress of the beneficiaries in the areas of basic reforms./